Wrapped in His arms!

“And I’m here to stay. Nothing can separate us, and I know I’m okay. You can cradle me gently! Wrapped in your arms…I’m home. I’m seeing so much clearer looking through Your eyes. I could never find a safer place even if I tried. All the times I’ve needed you, You’ve never left my side. I’m clinging to Your every word. Don’t ever let me go, don’t let go.” (Fireflight)

Lyrics can have the same powerful message that a sermon can. The words impact our hearts and give us a glimpse of His holiness. This song is so powerful and the words so meaningful. It talks about God’s unconditional love! It should amaze us that even when we turn our backs on Him, He chooses to still be right there with us. Romans 8:38-39 says “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” We cannot do anything to separate us from His love. That should be enough for us, but sometimes we allow ourselves to be distracted by the world around us. It’s comforting to know that no matter how far we try to run, He is always walking with us! He wants us to reach out to Him and to take His hand. God’s love cradles us in His arms and has the strength to comfort us through the hardest times.

When separated from the ones we love, we tend to feel homesick. All we want is to be close to those who love us and understand us. That is how we will feel when we allow ourselves to be separated from God. When we turn away from Him, we find ourselves feeling homesick. Our hearts desire to feel that closeness and to feel complete in God. Only God and His love for us can fulfill our feelings of aloneness in the most trying times. When we are home, when we are willing to talk with God about our heart’s longing; He is there to wrap His arms around us and comfort us. We feel most safe when we are home in His arms. Just like a husband wraps his arms around his wife to comfort her; and a father wraps his arms around his daughter- God is there to wrap his arms around us.

Spending time in His word and striving to live a life that is honoring to Him is what it takes to see Him clearly. When we try to walk through this world alone, we catch ourselves stumbling and falling all over the place. But when we walk with God, He holds us up and  never leaves our side. Exodus 14:14 says “you need only to remain calm; the Lord will fight for you”. Isn’t that comforting? We are told that He will fight the battles for us. He will protect us and guide us to safety. All God wants is our love and our hearts! He wants u to surrender our lives to His will and to live victoriously.

Have you ever been frustrated and just randomly turned on the radio, only to hear lyrics that made you feel His presence? It was a rainy cold winter day and I remember climbing into my car and just needing to drive. I was frustrated with the circumstances that were arising in my life and for some reason driving around seemed like a good idea. I remember just thinking that I needed to turn on the radio to drown out my thoughts, and when I did- it was a song that talked about God’s comfort. It was a song about God’s unconditional love and His power to save us amidst the storm.

Allow Him to wrap you in His arms. Allow Him to show you His unconditional love. Allow Him to be your home. Allow God to be everything you need!

Leave a Reply

